Forgotten Password Create Account

Opening an account enables you to complete forms on the ESSO website. To access the ESSO members area please proceed with the membership application.

2016 European Society of Surgical Oncology (ESSO) Awards

2016 Lifetime Achievement Award - Professor Luigi Cataliotti

Luigi Cataliotti

Prof. Cataliotti, who was the President of ESSO in 2005-2006, has succeeded in setting the grounds of this nowadays recognized organization within Europe. He has provided impetus to make the society mature and progress to a steadily growing society with affiliated members in most European countries and beyond. In addition he is one of the founding Founding Members of the European Academy of Cancer Sciences, of which he is now a Honorary member.

Prof Cataliotti has published around 350 papers in peer and non-peer reviewed journals and he has given more than 300 lectures in National and International meetings. He also used to be a lecturer at the University of Florence, Italy.

Following his professional life dedication to surgery, cancer and research, Prof. Luigi Cataliotti was awarded with the ESSO Lifetime Achievement Award during the 36 ESSO Congress opening session on Wednesday 14th September 2016 in Krakow.

Prof. Cataliotti is a former President of the European Society of Breast Cancer Specialists, former President of the Italian Society of Senology, former Treasurer of the Italian Society for Surgical Research and former President of the European Society of Surgical Oncology. In addition he was a member of the Board of Directors of the Federation of the European Cancer, of the Board of Directors of the European Cancer Organisation, of the European Society of Surgical Oncology, of the Steering Committee of the Breast Group of the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer and of the Tuscan Cancer Institute. In 2003 he received the European Society of Surgical Oncology Award.

Today, Prof. Cataliotti is President of Senonetwork Italia Onlus (The Italian network of breast centres) and Breast Centres Certification.

2016 ESSO Medal - Professor Niall O’Higgins

Niall O'Higgins

Professor Niall O’Higgins is a general surgeon with special interest in surgical oncology. He has carried out lots of research on breast cancer. He used to be a lecturer at the University College Dublin Department of Surgery and is nowadays a Professor Emeritus there. For 30 years, Prof. O’Higgins was also a Consultant Surgeon at the St Vincent’s University Hospital.

Prof. O’Higgins has been involved in over 300 scientific publications, mainly on breast cancer research and clinical surgery. He is moreover co-editor of a major textbook of surgery.

During the ESSO 36 Congress closing session, Professor Niall O’Higgins was awarded the ESSO Medal in recognition of his continuous efforts towards the improvement of the education and training of young surgeons, and of his investement in ESSO’s successful growth and internationalization.

Prof. Niall O’Higgins is former President of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, of the European Society of Surgical Oncology, and of the Federation of European Cancer Societies and former Chairman of the Accreditation Council for Oncology in Europe. He was also Chairman of the Editorial Board of the European Journal of Surgical Oncology.

Niall O’Higgins received Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of England and of the American College of Surgeons. He was awarded Honorary Fellowships from the College of Surgeons of South Africa, Bangladesh and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. He received the President’s Gold Medal of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh.

For many years Prof. O’Higgins has demonstrated his thorough support to the mission and to the many objectives of ESSO of which he is now a Honorary Member.

View here the previous recipients

View here the interview with Prof. Cataliotti and Prof. O'Higgins

ESSO Industry Partners