Forgotten Password Create Account

Opening an account enables you to complete forms on the ESSO website. To access the ESSO members area please proceed with the membership application.

Board of Directors

2016-2018  ESSO Board 2016 - 2018

On the occasion of the ESSO 36 Congress in Krakow, Poland, Professor Santiago Gonzalez-Moreno (Medical Director MD Anderson Cancer Center Madrid, Spain) took over the presidency of the society from Professor Riccardo A. Audisio (Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Gothenburg, Sweden).
The General Assembly elected a new President-elect, Dr. Tibor Kovacs (UK/Hungary), a new Treasurer, Prof. Domenico M. D'Ugo (Italy), and new Board members, namely Prof. William Allum (UK), Prof. Michel Rivoire (France), Dr. Hassan Malik (UK) and Dr. Isabel Teresa Rubio (Spain).


For information on the roles and responsibilities of the board please read this document.


Executive Committee


  Prof. Santiago Gonzalez-Moreno (ES), Medical Director and Head of Surgical Oncology, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Madrid


  Tibor Kovacs (UK), Surgical Oncologist at Guy's and St. Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, London

  Past -President

  Prof. Riccardo A. Audisio (SE), Professor of Surgery, Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Gothenburg, Sweden.

  Honorary Secretary

  Prof. Marjut Leidenius (FI), Department Head, Breast Surgery Unit, Medical University Hospital Helsinki, Finland

  Honorary Treasurer

  Prof. Domenico M. D'Ugo (IT), Professor of Surgery at Catholic University of Rome, “A.Gemelli” Medical School, Italy

Committee Chairs

  • Prof. Serge Evrard (FR), The Digestive Tumours Unit, Institut Bergonié, Comprehensive Cancer Center of Bordeaux & South Western of France
  • Prof. Cornelis van de Velde (NL), Professor of Surgery and Chairman of the Department of Surgical Oncology, Leiden University Medical Center, The Netherlands
  • Mrs. Lynda Wyld (UK), Senior Lecturer in Surgical Oncology at the University of Sheffield, UK
  • Prof. Wojciech Polkowski (PL), Head of the Department of Surgical Oncology of the Medical University of Lublin, Poland
  • Dr. Hassan Malik (UK) University Hospital Aintree, Aintree, United Kingdom


  • Prof. Odysseas Zoras (GR), Professor of Surgical Oncology and Chair of the Department of Surgical Oncology at the University of Crete, Medical School, Greece
  • Prof. Agnieszka Kolacinska (PL), Consultant surgeon and Professor of Surgery at the Military Division of the Medical University of Lodz, Department of Head and Neck Cancer Surgery
  • Prof. Michel  Rivoire (FR) Leon Berard Cancer Centre, Lyon, France
  • Dr. Isabel-Teresa Rubio (SP), Director, Breast Surgical Unit, Clínica Universidad de Navarra, Spain
  • Prof. William Allum (UK) Consultant Upper GI Surgeon, Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, London, United Kingdom



ESSO Industry Partners