Forgotten Password Create Account

Opening an account enables you to complete forms on the ESSO website. To access the ESSO members area please proceed with the membership application.

BASO - The British Association of Surgical Oncology


The British Association of Surgical Oncology (BASO) is the association that speaks as an umbrella organisation for surgical specialties treating people with malignant diseases in the UK. BASO was founded in 1971 by Ronald Raven, Surgical Oncologist, as a forum for surgical research and training for the benefit of patients with cancer. The Association represents surgeons and their centres across the United Kingdom & Ireland and has influence beyond.

BASO was formed in 1972 to further the philosophy that the management of malignant disease was becoming a multidisciplinary challenge. The steering committee organised the first scientific meeting in summer 1973 at which Ronald Raven was confirmed as the first President of the Association. After the James Ewing Society - Society for Surgical Oncology, BASO ~ ACS is the second oldest national surgical oncology association in the world.

In 2003 the Association changed its name to BASO ~ The Association for Cancer Surgery and expanded its membership to allow specialist nurses and other allied professionals to join the Association. BASO~ACS now has over 500 members drawn from the UK and around the world.

The Association has now run over 60 National Meetings. These are held annually at the Royal College of Surgeons of England, or another venue in the UK. In addition, the Association has met on numerous occasions with other national surgical oncology associations including the German, Indian and Sri Lankan societies.


The 2019 BASO Annual Conference and Trainees Meeting will be held in London.

The BASO Annual Scientific Meeting will be held from the 17th-18th of November.

The BASO Trainees meeting will be held on the 16th of November.





Professor Robert Kirby

Vice President

Mr Hassan Malik

Honorary Secretary

Mr Hassan Malik


Mr. John Whiting


ESSO Liason Person Joined ESSO Membership Number
Mr. Hassan Malik 2005 740
Address Fax Email
BASO ~ The Association for Cancer Surgery
at The Royal College of Surgeons
35-43 Lincoln's Inn Fields
London WC2A 3PE
020 7869 6851

ESSO Industry Partners